About De-Escalate Washington

De-Escalate Washington is a coalition of families, law enforcement leaders, mental health and disability rights advocates, tribes, LGBTQ groups, racial justice organizations, and many other concerned community and civil rights organizations and leaders committed to passing Initiative 940. We believe that we can all come together, regardless of our race, backgrounds, or where we live to save lives and make Washington safer.

940 Leadership Team Members:

Leslie Cushman, Attorney and Citizen Sponsor

Stephanie Ervin, Civic Ventures

Loretta Gutierrez-Sacks, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists

Monisha Harrell, Equal Rights Washington

Alison Holcomb, ACLU Washington

Chris Lampkin, SEIU 1199NW

Ali Lee, Be The Change Network

Fe Lopez, One America

Nina Martinez, Latino Civic Alliance

Xochitl Mayokovich, Washington CAN

Kim Mosolf, Disability Rights Washington

Tim Reynon, Puyallup Tribe Councilmember

James Rideout, Justice for Jackie

Larry Shannon, Washington State Association of Justice

Andre Taylor, Not This Time

Heather Villanueva, SEIU 775


Other Campaign Leaders Include:

Toshiko Hasegawa, Japanese American Citizens League

Rev. Harriet Walden, Mothers Demand Police Accountability

Cynthia Softli, President, Black Law Enforcement Association of Washington

Carlos Bratcher, National Black Police Association Board Member

Dr. Karen Johnson, President of the Black Alliance of Thurston County

Marilyn Covarrubias, Justice for Daniel